Skip to content
December 10, 2010 / justerik

This is a breakup letter

Today was my last day of work at my current job. This is the letter I sent the staff.


Dearest Blue House –

Our six year anniversary was back in August, and I’ve been thinking a lot about us. I know we’ve been doing the long distance thing since May, and that’s been working out okay but, well… there is another job.

And it’s not a better job! No, actually, in a lot of ways it’s a worse job. It’s not as interesting or as challenging as you are, not as exciting and not as (oh god, I’m gonna blush) flexible. But, and I hate to say this, she is easy. And things have never been easy between us, and I could use some easy in my life right now. You know I moved up here to rediscover my passions and I could use a job that leaves me the kind of space to do that. And that’s not you.

And yes, this new job has money. A lot more money, and I won’t pretend that wasn’t part of my decision, though it was by no means the only one. I never told you this, but Microsoft and Google both hinted that they were interested and I never did anything about it. It was never just about the money.

I want to talk about our kids.

Obviously, they’re going to stay in your care, and that’s probably the hardest thing for me. Genie, Mailer, even poor JukeBox – I love my kids more than just about anything. I have more time invested in JukeBox’s internals than I had in my failed marriage. I’ll be 30 soon, and when I look back over the last decade of my life, these guys will be what I have instead of writing, instead of films, instead of songs, or lovers, or any other work of days and hands. I’ve stuck around this long because of them and it’s been hard saying goodbye over the last couple of weeks.

I’m sure this isn’t surprising to you, not after all we’ve been through. And, I think, this will wind up being easier for you than for me. I, inexplicably some would say, gave you the best years of my life. Take care of what I left you. I’ll try to take care of myself.

Goodbye.

– Erik Harrison
Senior Software Developer (retired)
The Blue House

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Kyra / Dec 10 2010 2:18 pm

    Bittersweet, but cheers to new experiences! …..even if they aren’t as flexible. đŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

