Skip to content
December 1, 2009 / justerik

And they call it Lonesome Town

I don’t sleep well, not lately, not ever. When I finally get there, I’ll be down for much longer than any healthy person ought to be, but it’s a long time coming. So this is just between us, huddled around our laptops in the dark.

I like to sleep. I’m not tired. I just dream long, rich dreams. It’s nice. How can anyone wake up in the morning when there are skies to fly through, lovers to dance with and ships to sail in the Moonlight Sea? So much to do, and time never runs right when you’re asleep.

The downside is that dreams don’t make any sense. They slip and change and turn behind our eyelids and fall apart when you try to pin them down. One minute you’re a superhero, the next minute a kangaroo is hitting you with a stick. And the kangaroo is also your third grade teacher.

Also, this post doesn’t make sense. I don’t know what I’m saying. I like to make sense. So that’s weird.

Maybe I’m a kangaroo.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Dec 6 2009 3:04 am

    “How can anyone wake up in the morning when there are skies to fly through, lovers to dance with and ships to sail in the Moonlight Sea?”

    You are definitely the son of your mother and the grandson of her father. I don’t know if I should apologize or shrug my shoulders at that. In the end it doesn’t matter. We and you are who we are. Those who love sleep yet pay the price by having to wait for it.

Leave a Reply

