Skip to content
November 27, 2009 / justerik

Thanks

I’m thankful for all-purpose flour, cranberries, cream of mushroom soup, and the Internet for lending their hands in making a dinner that could not be beat and that even now threatens the limits of modern refrigeration.

I’m thankful for Hasbro’s Taboo ™, bottled cider, cheap bourbon, and big dinner tables for making the evening warm and loud.

I’m thankful for stories, chairs you can lean back in, and big, full throated laughter.

I’m thankful for napkins, pens, hastily scrawled phone numbers, blushes, and the pretty girl in the coffee shop who combined them all.

I’m thankful for pyjamas, democracy, railroad tracks, adrenaline glands, cocoa beans, cameras, soft skin, hot showers, punk rock, the poetry of Walt Whitman, and whipped cream. I’m thankful for farmers, the New Deal, big blankets, hair cuts, pizza, sweet tea, hardback books, incorrigible flirts, little kids, cell phones, and heartbreak.

But most of all – more than all that, more than anything, more than I could possibly say – I am thankful for you.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Dec 6 2009 3:01 am

    I am thankful for a son who writes so beautifully well and who can make me see what he sees and feel (as much as I can) what he feels, as you do when you write. I am thankful for my babies and their lives and their thoughts in a way you’ll know when your generations babies are grown. I don’t miss being young and I don’t envy your youth but I am thankful for yours and your sisters youth. Yours reminds me of my own and allows me the joy of it now even if I couldn’t find it then. And I am thankful for you, a son I can really like and respect. I love you, son.

Leave a Reply

